We speak your language 

Strategic Advisory Board

Professor of Chemistry (Faculty of Science)
Associate Member of Biochemistry (Faculty of Medicine)
McGill University

Prof. Tsantrizos obtained her PhD in Organic Chemistry in 1990 from McGill University, under the supervision of Prof. Kelvin K. Ogilvie, and then pursued Post-Doctoral studies at Brown University in the group of Prof. David E. Cane (1989-1991). In 1991, she joined the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Concordia University, where she earned tenure and was promoted to Associate Professor in 1996. In 1998, she joined Boehringer Ingelheim (Canada) Ltd as a Senior Research Scientist.

During her 10 year career at Boehringer Ingelheim, she held a number of leadership roles in medicinal chemistry and participated in activities that moved a number of antiviral agents through the different stages of the drug discovery process. In recognition of her contributions to R&D in pharmaceutical research, she received the 2000 International R&D Boehringer Ingelheim Award and was promoted to Group Leader/Distinguished Scientist.

In 2009, she joined the Department of Chemistry at McGill University at the level of Associate Professor and was promoted to Full Professor in 2011. In addition, she is an Associate Member of the Biochemistry Department at McGill University. Her current academic activities in Drug Discovery focus on cancer, neurodegenerative diseases and antiviral agents. She has published 65 papers in peer-reviewed journals and is the inventor/co-inventor of 28 patents.

In addition, Prof. Tsantrizos served as Chair of the 84thCanadian Society for Chemistry Conference (CSC 2001), as Vice President (2013/14) and President (2014/15) of the CSC, and she is currently the Immediate Past President of the CSC (2015/16).She has also served on various grant review panels, including the Natural Science and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Discovery Grants, the Canadian Institute of Health Research (CIHR) Proof of Principal grants and the Ontario Institute for Cancer Research. She is also Associate Editor for Frontiers in Chemistry.

In 2010, she received the Fessenden Professorship Award in Science Innovation, from McGill University and in 2012 the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, from the Governor General of Canada for services and contribution to Canada.


Specific product requirements



Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form :(